Your information to changing into the nationwide champion in 2021


Once a year, usually in June, countries across Europe – along with a few other random nations – hold their national road championships. WorldTour racers are returning home, some for the first time in months, to drive as if they were juniors again: from their parents' van with no support vehicle in sight.

Any normal racing tactic is forgotten as large hometown teams team up against individual drivers without a teammate coming to the rescue. Tears are shed. Words are spoken.

In order to keep track of who will swap their standard trading team colors for their flag for a year, we thought of summarizing the biggest national elite championships for men and women of the past week. Follow the links below to learn more about the different results.

Women's street races

UNITED STATES: Lauren Stephens (Tibco-SVB) | Race report
Netherlands: Amy Pieters (SD Worx) | Race report
Italy: Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo) | Instagram post
Belgium: Lotte Kopecky (Liv) | Press release
Denmark: Amalie Dideriksen (Trek-Segafredo) | Instagram post
Luxembourg: Christine Majerus (SD Worx) | photos
France: Évita Muzic (FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) | Instagram post
Spain: Mavi García (Alé BTC Ljubljana) | Highlights video
Hungary: Kata Blanka Vas (SD Worx) | photos
Switzerland: Marlen Reusser (Alé BTC Ljubljana)
Germany: Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit-WNT)
Slovenia: Eugenia Bujak (Alé BTC Ljubljana)
Serbia: Jelena Erić (Movistar)
Russia: Tamara Balabolina-Dronova (Cogeas-Mettler Pro Cycling)
Latvia: Lina Svarinska (Servetto-Makhymo-Beltrami TSA)

Lotte Kopecky won her second Belgian street title in a row at the weekend.

Men's street races

UNITED STATES: Joey Rosskopf (rally) | Race report
Belgium: Wout van Aert (Jumbo Visma) | Race report
France: Remi Cavagna (Deceuninck-QuickStep) | photos
Netherlands: Timo Roosen (Jumbo-Visma) | Highlights video
Italy: Sonny Colbrelli (Bahrain victorious) | photos
Slovakia: Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) | Highlights video
Slovenia: Matej Mohoric (Bahrain victorious) | Highlights video
Germany: Max Schachmann (Bora-Hansgrohe) | Press release
Austria: Patrick Konrad (Bora-Hansgrohe) | Press release
Switzerland: Silvan Dillier (Alpecin-Fenix)
Luxembourg: Kevin Geniets (Groupama-FDJ)
Spain: Omar Fraile (Astana-Premier Tech)
Norway: Tobias Foss (Jumbo Visma)
Latvia: Toms Skujins (Trek-Segafredo)
Denmark: Mads Würtz Schmidt (Israel Start-Up Nation)
Poland: Maciej Paterski (Voster ATS)
Russia: Artem Nych (Gazprom-RusVelo)
Portugal: José Carlos Prates Neves (W52-FC Porto)

Max Schachmann wins his second German street title.

ITTs for women

Netherlands: Anna van der Breggen (SD Worx) | Instagram post
UNITED STATES: Chloe Dygert (Canyon-SRAM) | Race report
Italy: Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo) | Instagram post
Denmark: Emma Norsgaard (Movistar) | Team tweet
Belgium: Lotte Kopecky (Liv) | Team tweet
France: Audrey Cordon-Ragot (Trek-Segafredo) | Instagram post
Germany: Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit-WNT) | Race report
Hungary: Kata Blanka Vas (SD Worx) | photos
Norway: Katrine Aalerud (Movistar)
Spain: Mavi García (Alé BTC Ljubljana)
Poland: Karolina Karasiewicz
Czech Republic: Nikola Noskovásd (SD Worx)
Luxembourg: Christine Majerus (SD Worx)
Slovakia: Nora Jencusová (Bepink)
Slovenia: Eugenia Bujak (Alé BTC Ljubljana)
Switzerland: Marlen Reusser (Alé BTC Ljubljana)
Latvia: Dana Rozlapa

Lisa Brennauer on the way to her fourth German ITT title. She also took her fourth road race title later that week (third in a row).

ITTs the men

Netherlands: Tom Dumoulin (Jumbo Visma) | Race report
Belgium: Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-QuickStep) | Instagram video
Germany: Tony Martin (Jumbo Visma) | Race report
Latvia: Toms Skujins (Trek-Segafredo) | Press release
UNITED STATES: Lawson Craddock (EF Education First-Nippo) | Press release
Denmark: Kasper Asgreen (Deceuninck-QuickStep) | Instagram post
Portugal: João Almeida (Deceuninck-QuickStep) | Instagram post
Switzerland: Stefan Kung (Groupama-FDJ) | Instagram post
Russia: Aleksandr Vlasov (Astana-Premier Tech)
Italy: Matteo Sobrero (Astana-Premier Tech)
France: Benjamin Thomas (Groupama-FDJ)
Spain: Ion Izagirre (Astana-Premier Tech)
Norway: Tobias Foss (Jumbo Visma)
Slovenia: Jan Tratnik (Bahrain victorious)
Estonia: Rein Taaramae (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux)
Austria: Mathias Brändle (Israel Start-Up Nation)
Czech Republic: Josef Černý (Deceuninck-QuickStep)
Poland: Maciej Bodnar (Bora-Hansgrohe)

Matteo Sobrero won the men's Italian ITT ahead of Edoardo Affini (left) and Mattia Cattaneo (right). World champion Filippo Ganna finished fourth.


Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to Newsletter list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

You might also like

Leave A Reply